Bloomfield Hills
Board of Education

Booth Center
7273 Wing Lake Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, 48301

The American
Disabilities Act:

If you are an individual with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the meeting or hearing, please contact us at least one week prior to the meeting or as soon as possible.

Board of Education

The seven elected trustees of the Bloomfield Hills School Board are dedicated to the success of our students and are guided by the district's long-standing Mission Statement and the more recent 10 Guiding Principles. Each year the board works in conjunction with the superintendent to create Annual Goals. School board trustees are elected in even year November elections by the residents of our school district.

Board members work collaboratively to accomplish the Annual Goals, to hire and evaluate the superintendent, to monitor and create the policies that govern our students and district and to oversee the financial operations of the district. In fact, the board trustees are not involved in the day to day operations of the district.

The school board considers transparent operations and effective communication with all stakeholders of the district to be of the utmost importance. Trustees attend myriad district and community events and are members of many diverse community organizations. There is a time for public comment at all board meetings and board members are also available via email (see contact information on the right) and direct phone calls.

The school board members conduct their business in several ways, working closely with the superintendent and the cabinet. Guided by four officers (president, vice president, secretary and treasurer) elected each January, the board meets as a whole and also in smaller committees. All meetings are open to the public and provide a time for public comment. Agendas for all meetings are posted online and on the doors of the Booth Center. Generally, board meetings are held on periodic Thursday evenings at the Booth Center, with the regular portion of the meeting starting at 7 p.m.

It is during these regular meetings that official business will be brought to vote. Oftentimes, the board will meet as a whole in a study session prior to the regular meeting. In addition, all members of the board, with the exception of the president, are assigned to one of two committees. The committees are BIC (Board Instruction Committee) and FFLA (Finance, Facilities and Legal Affairs) and typically meet once per month. All dates and times for any of these meeting can be found on the calendar on district's web site.

If you are interested in running for a school board position, please contact the Oakland County Election Division. There are papers that need to be filed by the appropriate 'Last Date of Filing,' approximately 90 days before an election.

Board of Education Office Hours

Paul Kolin - President

  • March 11 - 12-2 p.m. BHHS PTO Meeting
  • CANCELLED-*March 18 - 10 a.m.-12 p.m. SpEd Conference Room 
  • *March 25 - 10 a.m.-12 p.m. Booth Conf room F
  • *Also available by phone during these times at 203.570.2155

Lisa Efros - Secretary

  • March 15 - 12-2 p.m. Booth Conf Room D
  • March 20 - 12-2 p.m. Booth Conf Room H 
  • March 27 - 12-2 p.m. Booth Conf Room D

Jennifer Cook - Trustee

  • March 14  -  8-10 a.m. Booth Conf Room F 
  • March 19  -  8-10 a.m. Booth Conf Room F MOVED to:
     Starbucks 4036 Telegraph Rd
  • March 29  -  8-10 a.m. Booth Conf Room F 



  Paul Kolin

President - Paul Kolin
  Jacqueline El-Sayed

Vice President - Jacqueline El-Sayed, PhD
Lisa Efros

Secretary - Lisa Efros


Howard Baron

Treasurer - Howard Baron

  Mark Bank

Trustee - Mark Bank

Trustee - Jennifer Cook

Cynthia von Oeyen

Trustee - Cynthia von Oeyen