Menu

Clubs & Organizations

Animal Advocates Club - Grades 5, 6, 7 & 8

For students concerned about animals and related issues. Club will discuss issues affecting the animal kingdom, learn animal handling and care of the various critters in residence in room 107, and participate in a fundraiser for animal habitat. Meetings are held on a designated day after school. Interested students should contact Club Sponsor for day, time and room location.

Because of the popularity of this club, membership may be limited to one semester. There will be a field trip for both semester groups in the spring.

Sponsor:
Mr. Watters
hwatters@bloomfield.org

Be the Change Club - Grades 7 & 8

Members engage with other students while participating in community service projects that make a change locally or globally.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Kucinski
LKucinski@bloomfield.org

MAKE A MOVIE CLUB - GRADES 5 & 6

Students are introduced to various apps that an be used to create movies, both animated and real life videos. They will also learn editing tricks and special effect strategies using green screens and iMovie.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Lumsden
KLumsden@bloomfield.org

Forensics Club - Grades 5 & 6

Students interested in future public speaking, performing or participation in competitive forensics will gain exposure and experience in selecting and preparing materials.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Mullin
RMullin@bloomfield.org

FORENSICS TEAM (COMPETITIVE) - GRADES 6, 7 & 8

Fall and spring regional competitions. Auditions required for each season. Students perform in speech competitions using original or pre-written materials from various genres, as a solo, duo or multiple act. Students will be assigned a coach and practice schedule after auditions each season.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Neuwrith
LNeuwirth@bloomfield.org

 

Games Club - Grades 5, 6, 7 & 8

FIRST SEMESTER ONLY: Members will learn strategy, make new friends, and have some fun playing a variety of board/card games. Meetings are held on a designated day after school. Interested students should contact Club Sponsor for day, time and room location.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Kucinski
LKucinski@bloomfield.org

HONORS CHOIR - GRADES 6, 7 & 8

Students will study music at an advanced level. Students are encouraged to have input on performance and repertoire selections.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Pierre
EPierre@bloomfield.org

Honors Orchestra - Grades 6, 7 & 8

Students rehearse and perform extra-challenging orchestra music. Meetings are held on a designated day before school. Interested students should contact Club Sponsor for day, time and room location.

NOTE: Students in 5th grade must obtain prior permission from Club Sponsor, Mrs. Baldwin.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Baldwin
MBaldwin@bloomfield.org

Jazz Band Club - Grades 6, 7 & 8

Open to 6th - 8th grade band students interested in exploring, learning and performing jazz, big band, swing, pop, rock, funk and Latin band music. It is open to all band instruments. Since Jazz Band is a performing group, attendance at every rehearsal is expected. Students in 5th grade must obtain permission from club sponsor. Meetings are held on a designated day before school. Interested students should contact Club Sponsor for meeting day, time and room location.

Sponsor:
Ms. Peterson
KPeterson@bloomfield.org

Knitting Club - Grades 5, 6, 7 & 8

No prior knitting knowledge necessary. Learn the skills of knitting and to enjoy the company of fellow club members. Materials required will be discussed at the first meeting. Meetings are held on a designated morning before school. Interested students should contact Club Sponsor for day, time and room location.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Robbins
CRobbins@bloomfield.org

MATHCOUNTS CLUB (COMPETITIVE) - GRADES 6, 7 & 8

Club will support student interest in mathematics, and develop their problem-solving ability. Mathcounts is a competitive math league that provides students the opportunity to compete in live, in-person contests against and alongside peers.

Sponsor:
Mr. Rice
JRice@bloomfield.org

ME TO WE CLUB - GRADES 7 & 8

Me to We Club transforms students through experiential service-learning. Through educational resources and service campaigns, students further their curricular learning, enhance their skills for success, and make a positive impact on the world.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Veillette
DVeillette@bloomfield.org

Newspaper Club - Grades 6, 7 & 8

For students who love to write and have great ideas that they want to share with the school. Members will publish a school newspaper on a periodic basis.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Kesner
LKesner@bloomfield.org

Sports Sampler Club - Grade 5

7th grade boys and girls will learn about or gain experience in a variety of sports in a fun, non-competitive environment.

Sponsor:
Mr. Weghorst
DWeghorst@bloomfield.org

Table Tennis Club - Grades 6, 7 & 8

Members will learn table tennis skills and enjoy a social experience that promotes fun, friendly competition and sportsmanship.

Sponsor:
Mr. Woodberg
RWoodberg@bloomfield.org

Leadership Organizations

MEMBERSHIP IN EACH OF THE LEADERSHIP ORGANIZATIONS BELOW ARE BY APPLICATION ONLY. STUDENTS WILL BE ADVISED OF APPLICATION DATES VIA SCHOOL ANNOUNCEMENTS:

WEB Ambassadors: Grade 8 – WEB Ambassadors are trained as mentors for 5th graders and will provide opportunities for social interaction, general assistance in school and learning.

Sponsor:
Mrs. Jaster
LJaster@bloomfield.org

Lancer Leaders: Grade 6 – Members will work on leadership skills and focus on three primary goals of promoting respect, good decision making and further enhancing BHMS’s positive culture and treatment of others.

Sponsor:
Mr. Flevaris
AFlevaris@bloomfield.org

Resources


Club Meeting Calendar

Parents Please Note:

Not all clubs are available in all years.

Students who participate in a club must submit a Pay to Participate fee before attending the second and subsequent meetings.

Pay-to-Participate Form 2018-2019