Menu

EHMS News

Principal's Message 2-15-19

Dear East Hills School Community:

This past Wednesday East Hills held its Second Annual Elementary Variety Show - it was amazing!  We are so blessed to have talented and energetic students at our school - they really know how to put on an impressive show!  Back in December we held our Middle School Talent Show, this week's 4th and 5th Grade Variety Show was a special way to celebrate as a elementary community . . . together both events highlighted not only impressive skills but what it means to encourage each other as audience members and parts of a larger community!  Thank you to our variety show planning committee for all of their efforts - Mr. Shallow, Mrs. Parks, Mrs. Beattie, and Mr. Schumacher.



      

       

I would like to personally thank all of our  volunteers and staff for their help organizing our group pictures. As you might imagine, group pictures at a 4-8 building is best described as a cross between family pictures and herding cats, but under the leadership of Mrs. Konzen, Mr. Kalanquin, and Mr. Southward along with the support of all the volunteers and staff things moved very well.   As is often the case at East Hills, it was truly a team effort!

Don't forget to sign up for the Science Fair - we have extended the deadline to Friday, Feb. 22!  As we look toward next week, Tuesday, February 19, we have a special clinic and concert put on by our 7th and 8th Grade Band and Orchestra - the concert and clinic will be held at Bloomfield Hills High School - please see the announcement below for all the details.  Additionally, East Hills will host the 7th and 8th Grade Choir Concert on Wednesday, Feb. 20 at 7:00 p.m. - please consider attending these wonderful music performances!

Next week also features the rescheduled incoming ninth-grade orientation at Bloomfield Hills High School on Monday, Feb. 18.  The orientation begins at 7:00 p.m. and is geared toward parents and adult family members. If your child is interested in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, there is also an informational meeting prior to the orientation that starts at 6:00 p.m. (see the article below for details).

Please check out all the important announcements and information in this week's broadcast.

"Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again."
–Nelson Mandela

Jason

Jason Rubel
Principal
East Hills Middle School
Bloomfield Hills Schools
(248) 341-6205
Twitter: @EastHills4_8

East Hills Middle School Website
"Enabling learners to become architects of their futures. . ."

A/B Day Schedule:
Mon., Feb. 18 - A Day
Tues., Feb. 19 - B Day
Wed., Feb. 20 - A Day
Thurs., Feb. 21 - B Day
Fri., Feb. 22 - A Day

KEY DATES
The following are upcoming key dates for the school year, and our full calendar for the year can be accessed by clicking HERE:
Sun. Feb. 17 PTO Family Bowling Night: "Bowling for Bees" 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Tues. Feb. 19 7th/8th Band/Orch Concert & Clinic @ BHHS 6:00 – 8:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 20 7th/8th Grade Choir Concert 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. NEW DATE
Sat. Feb. 23 Vocal Solo & Ensemble TBD
Fri. Mar. 1 (*) Progress Report #3 (6th/7th/8th Grades)
Sat. Mar. 2 Science Olympiad TBD
Wed. Mar. 6 PTO Meeting 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Fri.-Sat. Mar. 8-9 Band/Orch Festival @ BHMS TBD
Tues. Mar. 12 K-8 Eastover/East Hills Science Fair 6:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. @ Bloomfield Township Public Library
Tues. Mar. 19 6th Grade Choir Concert 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Thurs. Mar. 21 Incoming 4th Grade Orientation 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 25 BH/EH/WH 8th Grade Choir Concert @ BHHS 7:00 p.m. NEW DATE
Thurs. Mar. 28 4th-8th Progress Conferences #3 3:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 29 (*) End of 3rd Quarter (6th-8th)
Fri. Mar. 29  ½ Day School (11:35 a.m. Dismissal)
Mon.-Fri. Apr. 1-5 No School - Spring Break (Classes Resume April 8)
Wed. Apr. 10 PTO Meeting 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.